Ground Truth: Briefly

Wildfire Caucus

Congressman John Curtis (R-Utah) and Congressman Joe Neguse (D-Colo.) formed the Bipartisan Wildfire Caucus in the second month of the 117th Congress.

A press release issued by the offices of both congressmen says the new caucus “seeks to elevate awareness and bipartisan consensus around wildfire management and mitigation, and wildfire preparedness and recovery.”

Current caucus members include Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.), Ann Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.), Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.), Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.), Blake Moore (R-Utah), Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.), Mike Simpson (R-Idaho) and Chris Stewart (R-Utah). Any additional members “will be required to join in equal bipartisan numbers.”

According to the statement, the Wildfire Caucus will promote “bipartisan science-based wildfire management and mitigation proposals in Congress.”